Aylesford Bulls won the Women’s Premiership for the first time with a 17-8 win over Bristol in the final at Sixways Stadium.

Michela Sillari scored two tries for the Bulls and Hannah Field scored another as they n took the title, despite finishing third in the regular season table.

Bristol made a spirited fightback in the second half with Chantelle Miell scoring her 13th league try of the season.

In the third minute a break from Leanne Riley saw her offload to Hannah Field to score, Jess Wooden adding the extras.

Amber Reed replied with a penalty for Bristol but the Bulls scored their second try in the 19th minute when Sillari went over out wide. The score remained 12-3 at the break.

It was 14 minutes into the second half when Bristol’s Miell scored in the corner, only for Aylesford’s Sillari to score her second from an overlap and Aylesford Bulls held on to complete the double, having won the Women’s Cup earlier in April.

Aylesford Bulls and England centre Rachael Burford said:

“This means everything to everyone, not just all the players but all the staff involved with Aylesford Bulls. It was down to us as the players to repay everyone and it’s a credit to everyone at this club for all the hard work on and off the pitch.”